Birthdays Gone Bad

File this one away under “do these people have ANYTHING better to think about???”

DEAR ABBY: We recently celebrated my stepdaughter’s 40th birthday. After dinner I placed the birthday cake, along with the knife, cake server, plates and forks, in front of her. We sang “Happy Birthday,” and she blew out the candles.

Shortly afterward, I realized she was not cutting and serving the cake, so I asked if she wanted her father or me to do it.

I was raised with the idea that the person whose birthday it is should serve the cake to those celebrating with her (or him). Now I have begun to wonder, what is the proper custom regarding who should cut and serve the birthday cake? — CURIOUS IN SAN FRANCISCO

The correct answer is…..WHO GIVES A FLYING f***? Just, well, let them eat cake.

One response to “Birthdays Gone Bad

  1. Stupid stupid stupid

Leave a Reply

